Generally I do not find dirty water beautiful. You would probably have to pay me and then push me to get me swimming in any body of water that features pond scum (I think it’s up for debate as to whether or not scum is a beautiful word). However, there is one scenario in which I find dirty water one of the most satisfyingly beautiful sights ever – when I wash my hands.

There’s nothing like coming in from working on the car or in the garden, or even just coming home after a regular day and heading to that sink. When soap and grime meet, the magic happens. The water falls from my hands, having been transformed from clear purity to muddy satisfier of my love of cleanliness. It’s beautiful to watch that water drain away and know that filth, dirt, and scum are no longer on my hands.
