I wrote the bulk of my term paper this semester in eight hours. Eight hours well spent. A Friday evening where most of the campus was gone. I turned on the Narnia soundtracks, made some tea, dug out all the books I knew I would need and a few I didn’t, and sat down with my computer to put my thoughts about beauty onto paper. I googled, I quoted, I took a last-minute trip to the campus library to track down a copy of The Voyage of the¬†Dawn Treader. I let the keys click as my thoughts formed sentences, then paragraphs, then pages. My word choice made me laugh. Sometimes Augustine’s thoughts made me “ah-HA!”

Spending eight relaxing hours with a paper that is supposed to be your best work of the semester is something that doesn’t happen very often. But when it does, it reminds you that beauty is worth the cost.

