I’ve been listening to a lot of Radio Lab lately, but after three episodes in one week, I was getting tired. I get so caught up in podcasts and audiobooks that I sometimes forget that my iPod has music on it. A lot of music. So much that I couldn’t even make a guess at how many different artists or songs are housed in that little device.

Yesterday, while running errands, I set my iPod on shuffle and just let the tracks play. It was refreshing: just listening to whatever came on, reminding myself of all the different nooks and facets of my musical interests.

Anberlin. Mendelssohn. Meiko. Ingrid Michaelson. Radiohead. Beck. The Marie Antoinette soundtrack. Four-minute excerpts from A Thousand Splendid Suns.

Shuffle: the audible conglomerate of a personality. The ability to surprise yourself.

